Jess Colwill, January 20, 2017

League of Legends Back to School in New College Season with Big Ten Network

A new League of Legends collegiate season has been announced as part of a deal between Riot games and the Big Ten Network.

The debut season of this new collegiate league will feature Big Ten schools: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue, Rutgers, and Wisconsin.

The 12 teams will be split into "East" and "West" groups for a best-of-3 round robin, which will lead into an eight-team single elimination bracket for the BTN League of Legends Championship.

The winners of that tournament will then face off against the best college teams in North America as part of the League of Legends College Championship.

Riot’s Michael Sherman, associate esports manager on Riot Games’ collegiate team, says that the company is hoping to “celebrate traditional rivalries that exist in the college space,” such as “everything from Minnesota/Wisconsin to Ohio State/Michigan.”

“Even our initial discussions with the Big Ten Network started with the fact that there were clubs at every Big Ten school,” Sherman explained to Yahoo.

“If you looked at the schools in the conference, and you compared them to the schools in our Campus Series last year, the conference with the highest amount of participation was the Big Ten. Even this year, four schools in the top 25 overall are from the Big Ten.”

We’ll be sure to keep an eye on the new league for signs of the newest rising stars in the LoL scene!

Jess Colwill

Jess is a writer and dog-lover from the eastern coast of Australia, who loves playing games (particularly anything by BioWare), listening to metal, baking, and fostering rescue dogs while they wait for new homes. You can find her on Twitter at @notsocryptic.