Jess Colwill, February 17, 2017

Hearthstone Planning Big Changes For 2017, Removes Six Cards

The Year of the Kraken is over and the Year of the Mammoth is upon us, according to Blizzard. It will officially kick off with Blackrock Mountain, the first planned expansion for the year, at which point cards from The Grand Tournament and League of Explorers expansions will be shunted from Standard to Wild.

In order to promote more varied deck-building, Blizzard have also announced that certain cards which are currently “considered auto-includes” will be moved into a new “Hall of Fame” set. These six powerful cards are Sylvanas Windrunner, Azure Drake, Ragnaros the Firelord, Power Overwhelming, Ice Lance, and Conceal.

The six offending cards will remain in Wild format, but will no longer be allowed in Standard format. If you own these cards, you’ll be given the dust value for them as if you disenchanted them -- but you’ll be allowed to keep the cards.

Interestingly however, Blizzard will be “collaborating with third-party tournament organizers to promote additional Hearthstone tournaments using the Wild format” 2017. They’re looking to expand competitive play beyond the heavily-controlled Standard scene, planning to run a Heroic Tavern Brawl in the WIld Format sometime after Blackrock releases.

There will also be a change to the way Adventures and Expansions are released, with Blizzard swapping from the traditional alternating release of the two types to a more defined 130 card Expansion release three times a year. It seems like Blizzard are keen to combine the more thematic elements of Adventures with the Expansions, rather than releasing smalls stand-alone thematic Adventures on their own.

Take a look at the full list of changes here.

Jess Colwill

Jess is a writer and dog-lover from the eastern coast of Australia, who loves playing games (particularly anything by BioWare), listening to metal, baking, and fostering rescue dogs while they wait for new homes. You can find her on Twitter at @notsocryptic.